T20 Fever- Indian Premier League 2013 at a Glance

The absolutely wonderful new year has just started and is already resonating with the thrill of cricket fever. Everywhere you go, to whomever you talk, the one thing that is discussed first is cricket and to be precise, it’s IPL. The cricket frenzy in India is at its peak now with the existence of IPL season.  The Indian Premier League 2013, scheduled from the 3rd of April through 22nd May is here. The starting match, slated to be a nail biter as it is being played between last year’s IPL trophy winners- the Kolkata Knight Riders and the Delhi Daredevils. 

This year, it is different from the other 5 seasons in the IPL. 2013’s IPL is stepping into its 6th edition with a change in its sponsorship. As most of us know, it is no longer called as ‘The DLF IPL’. It is now knows as Pepsi IPL with Pepsico as the title sponsor or this celebrity hyped yet glamorous cricket tournament. Spectators witnessed an extravagant opening ceremony followed by the first match between IPL champions KKRs and Delhi Daredevils.

This year’s IPL will witness a lot of amendments. After the Kochi Tuskers, it is the Deccan Chargers, the second team to be terminated from the tournament this year. With nine teams participating in the event, Sun TV Network has won the bid and formed a new team called Sunrisers Hyderabad, replacing Deccan Chargers. Sunrisers Hyderabad are making their debut in IPL 2013. There is also a huge addition and subtraction in the players list as well. With all these changes and more, this year’s IPL is ready to rock n roll and entertain lakhs of desperate fans.

Hardcore cricket lovers from around the country and world have started to make notes in their respective planners to accommodate their IPL watching schedule. Teams have been made and favourites have been chosen. All the nine teams viz Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Pune Warriors India, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore are ready to add more colors to the game and delight their loving fans.

With all the excitement around, neither the rain or sleet or apparently no amount of work will be able to pry a die-hard cricket fan from the TV sets or in some extreme cases, THE cricket stadium. India gears up for the series of matches that would take place one after the another and cheer for their favourite cricket heroes. So, guys, as the TV commercial punch line is “Sirf Dekhane Ka Nahi!” means you have to do something more when batsmen hit six or four. 

Keep doing the- “Dil jhamping jhapang jhampak jhampak” each time the boys or your favourite cricket star hits a Six! Sirf Dekhne ka Nahi, Naachne ka bhi!

Youthopia Team

Team Youthopia works with a passion to make your voices heard!

Leave a Reply